top of page

Animals And Mental Illness.


Mental Illness such as depression, can make someone feel like they don't have a life purpose. This is not true in the slightest, however it can be hard for that person to accept it. By giving someone another physical purpose, this gives them another reason to continue pushing their way through life. Now you are probably wondering what I mean by a "physical purpose". I am talking about a responsibility. Another living soul which cannot take care of itself. If I were to be more specific, animals.


By giving someone the full responsibility to care for an animal, this gives them a reason to get out of bed to spend time with them and goto work so they can afford to feed them. This gives them a reason to live. It gives them something to focus on rather than the negative things around them. This gives them an aid to help them calm down after a panic attack.


Animals are amazing creatures. They never judge you or betray you like certain humans would. I have personally grown up with animals my entire life and I cannot imagine my life without them. Whenever I am upset or I can't sleep, the first thing I do is go spend time with my pets, especially my birds as they are so intelligent. There has been so many times in life where I have wanted to end my life, but I didn't because I had a responsibility to look after my animals. Who else would care for them if I was gone? I cannot imagine anyone else taking care of the living souls I have raised since they were babies. They are my family.


Now I am not saying caring for an animal will help everyone, it really depends on the person. However, for a lot of people I do believe this would help. The feathered and furry creatures which have came into my life have made things a lot better for me personally. I honestly believe by giving yourself a living responsibility to care for, it will change your life forever.

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page