top of page

GAME REVIEW: Beyond: Two Souls

Note. This review does not contain any spoilers.


Today, I am going to be reviewing a game called Beyond: Two Souls. It is an interactive drama and action-adventure game which was released on the 8th of October in 2013 by Quantic Dream and Sony Computer Entertainment. This game was created by the same people who made Heavy Rain, which I have done a review on as well. The game can be played on three different gaming platforms, including: PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3 and Microsoft Windows. This is a "Restricted" rated game and is not recommend for children under the age of 18.


The best way I can describe this game is a timeline of the main Character Jodie Holmes's life. Adventure different events which occur in Jodies life. Since the day Jodie was born, she has been linked to an entity whom goes by the name Aiden. After Jodie's foster partners seeking help to care for her from Nathan Dawkins (Willem Dafoe) and Cole Freeman (Kadeem Hardison), Jodie she slowly learns ways to control Aiden and the power which they share.



This game can be played as single-player or multi-player. Single-player can sometimes be a bit tricky as you need to control both Jodie and Aiden yourself. I must admit it looked a bit funny when playing Aiden, as Jodie was literally just standing there like a stuffed dummy. However, if you were playing this game with a friend, both characters would be able to move at the same time.


One thing I love about this game is they created the characters as replicas of real actors, including Ellen Page who plays as Jodie Holmes and Eric Winter who plays as Ryan Clayton. Another thing I need to mention is the graphics! The graphics in this game are absolutely amazing and each character looks spot on like the real person. I absolutely love the particle effects they added into the game, when you are playing Aiden.


A downfall I found about this game is the controls. I mentioned this same topic in my review of Heavy Rain, however they seem a lot more difficult in Beyond: Two Souls. I found myself making a lot of mistakes during action scenes (which there are a lot of them), because it does not really tell you which way to point the thumb-stick. Of course this didn't stop me from enjoying the story line, however I do believe it did alter the storyline paths I took because of these mistakes. I do believe they could have put a little bit more effort in when it comes to teaching you how to play.


Overall, I really enjoyed playing this game. If you look past the difficult controls, this is a very beautifully designed game! The storyline is outstanding! I must admit, I love games like this as it really feels like you are in the characters shoes. I highly recommend you give this game a try! I really enjoyed playing it myself and I honestly believe you will as well!



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page