top of page

GAME REVIEW: Heavy Rain

Note. This review does not contain any spoilers.

Today I am going to be sharing my thoughts on the game Heavy Rain. This beautifully developed interactive drama and action-adventure game was released on the 18th of February, 2010 by Quantic Dream and Sony Computer Entertainment. This single-player game can currently be enjoyed over three different gaming platforms including: PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3 and Microsoft Windows. This is a "Mature" rated game and is not recommend for children under the age of 15.


In this game, you play as 4 different characters: Ethan Mars, Madison Paige, Norman Jayden and Scott Shelby. This means you get to witness each characters personal experiences in the story. I must admit, at first I wasn't sure if I liked the idea of constantly switching between characters, but once I reached the end of the game, I realised that it would have been difficult to understand the story completely.


While playing this game, you will journey through many different emotional scenes to help Ethan Mars find his youngest son who has been taken by the Origami Killer, who is known for drowning his victims with extended periods of natural rainfall. You will adventure through investigations to find out who is the alleged serial killer. The Origami Killer forces Ethan to preform a number of tasks to test how far he will go to save his son. It really does show how much someone is willing to do for the ones they love.


My first thought when I began playing this game for the first time was how detailed the graphics in the game were. The amount of work that the designers put into this game is amazing! I also love the idea of each player witnessing different outcomes depending on the paths they take. It really does show that you need to be careful when making decisions in this game, as each choice you make will alter how the story ends.


There was definitely multiple scenes in the game that brought tears to my eyes. The storyline itself is quite emotional. It honestly felt as if I was in the shoes of these characters.



One thing I must mention is the controls. It can take a bit of time before getting use to the controls. I did find myself making a few mistakes during the fight scenes because of this. However, for the majority of time I was playing this game, the controls did not seem to bother me as much as they did while playing Beyond: Two Souls, which is another game produced by the same company.


Overall, I really enjoyed playing this game. Some of the scenes really shocked me as I was not expecting them, however that is kinda the point of these types of games. I highly recommend you give this game a try, you won't regret it! I honestly loved the storyline and I believe you will too!


Launch Trailer:


18 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page