top of page

How I Got Fifi.

Fifi is my beautiful grey and white medium haired cat. She has been in my live since 2013 and I do not regret the day she became part of my Family. The story of how I got her in the first place has always been spoken about, which is why I thought it would be a great idea to share the experience with you.



So the story begins...


On the 11th of April 2013, we took our three 4 month old kittens Aussie, Paris and India to the vet to have them desexed. It's really scary having any of your pets put under to be operated on, but most of the time they are fine afterwards. We had experienced desexing multiple of our pets in the past and have always had a good outcome, however this particular time we were not very lucky..


We got a phone call saying that Paris and India had been desexed and are recovering well after their surgeries. We did not expect to hear any bad news. They told us that Aussie did not make it through his surgery due to a heart-attack from possible heart condition and that he had passed away. I can remember the feeling that rushed through my body when I heard about his passing. This was the first time I had lost a pet of such a young age. I can remember myself and my mother sitting in our lounge room for at least an hour crying our hearts out. He was only 4 months old and we only got to enjoy his company for a short time. Usually I prefer to wait till a kitten is 6 months old to desex them, but we had 1 male and 2 female kittens that were not desexed, which could have caused many complications if we waited longer. I can remember I felt worried about possibly desexing them too early, but the vet made it clear that it was perfectly safe.


On the day of his passing, I posted this image on my personal FaceBook page in his memory.


This is an image we took of Aussie, Paris and India all huddled together, only a few weeks before the surgery. Aussie is the plain black kitten with the green colour, Paris is the ginger stripped kitten and India is the black and brown stripped tabby.


A few days later, my mother and I were still very heartbroken. Aussie was my mother's baby boy and she had lost him due to something that could not be helped. She decided that she wanted to go look at the kittens at the local RSPCA to see if there was any that she fell in love with. Now before you say anything, we were not replacing Aussie.


We went to the RSPCA and none of them seemed to be the right fit. So we decided to try our local pet shop which usually carries rescued or licensed bred kittens. Unfortunately they did not have any available for adoption at the time, accept an older cat which we could not take in as we already had multiple older cats at home.


My mum was lined up at the counter waiting to ask if they were getting any new kittens anytime soon. I was over looking at the older cat they had up for adoption. There was a man and woman standing in the line behind my mother. The man was holding a big white, red a blue stripped bag. I believe the man must have seen my mother looking over at me while I looked in the cat area. The man asked my mother if she was looking to buy a cat and opened the bag he was holding. Believe it or not, there were 6 beautiful tiny kittens in this bag. We went outside the pet store to have a closer look at the kittens. The moment I looked into the bag I was instantly drawn towards Fifi. I remember holding her in my arms so tightly as I did not want to leave her. My mother was holding a little boy kitten which looked very similar to Fifi, which we named DJ. The couple offered to give us the kittens for free, and we could not say no!


We got in the car and rushed over to the vet to get the kittens looked over, as we were unsure if they were healthy. Thankfully they were completely healthy.


This is an image of Fifi and DJ laying on a small pillow together. Fifi is the kitten in the front and DJ is behind her.


Now that I am older, I do believe we should have taken all 6 kittens as we do not know what they did with the other 4. I do really hope they just took them home and tried rehoming them. However there is a chance that they could have dumped them somewhere, I honestly don't know. People can be very cruel, so anything is impossible. I also do believe they were taken away from their mother too soon as they were only about 5 weeks old, however we could not help this. I am just glad we were able to give a loving home to DJ and Fifi.



Fifi was a very cuddly and loving kitten. She loved playing in my mothers ugg boots and sleeping on her back. There was one time she scared the living daylight out of me as I thought she was squished in the mechanics of our recliner lounge. Thank the lord that she was not and she was purely just sleeping there.


I must admit I am very shocked how much I remember of this story. Usually my memory isn't the bed, due to my ADHD, however the little details like what colour the bag was, how I felt the day Aussie passed and the incident with Fifi getting apparently "Squished" in the lounge has really stuck with me for some reason.



To this day I absolutely love my beautiful Fifi. She and my two other cats Bailee and Abby are my best friends and I don't know what I would do without their furry love. I am so thankful to have them in my life. Animals have honestly changed my life and I cannot imagine my life without at least one living furry/feathered soul in my care. They have taught me so much and I am so grateful to be their carer.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page