top of page

What It Is Like Living With ADHD And Anxiety.


I have ADHD, which means my brain works a lot different to the advantage person. If you mix severe anxiety with ADHD then it becomes a living nightmare.


Imagine this, you are trying to fall asleep at night and your brain is constantly saying random words repeatIvey. All you can hear is “the. the. and. I. Yes.” repeating it self over and over again for no absolutely reason and it feels like you are going insane. Imagine if you easily became addicted to the things you enjoy. Imagine if someone asks you a simple question and you answer it thinking you were correct, later on finding out you went own a totally different path. Imagine if you learnt one thing and became really good at it, then forgot what you learnt after moving on to a different topic. Imagine if you were talking to someone who did not agree with what you were saying and you did not realise. Imagine that your thoughts constantly become muddled up in your head. Imagine that every time you had to complete even the most simple task like taking the trash out, you had to plan everything you did. If you didn’t plan what you did you would become extremely anxious and upset. This is what I personally go through on a daily basis, and a majority of people would not realise.


In the past, my anxiety has gotten in the way of important things. My emotions tend to all over the place. Because of my anxiety, I have missed out on so many great opportunities. It takes so much out of me to motivate myself to do things. I have fears which the average person would not struggle with. Thankfully I am slowly learning day by day to overcome my fears.


Growing up I have had a lot of trouble making friends. I will never really understand entirely why so many people dislike me. Maybe it's my occasional stutter? I am not entirely sure. What I do know is that it does not matter if there are people who dislike me for being a bit different to what they expected. All that matters is the people who do like me and that want me in their life.


Now I am not telling you this to ask for Sympathy. I am telling you this to encourage people to become more aware of mental health and learning disorders. Many people in this world go through very similar to what I do. There are many different types of mental disorders, which effect everyone in a different way. Some people are effected temporarily, while others have it for life. The thing that a majority of people forget is, just because someone was diagnosed with a mental disorder, does not give anyone a reason to treat them differently. Just because someone is on medication and/or seeing a phycologist, does not mean their is something wrong with them. It does not mean they are not capable to be employed in the same work environment. It does not mean they won't be successful in life.


There are so many people who have been diagnosed with a mental disorder that have become successful life, such as Demi Lovato (she was diagnosed with bi-polar), Lady Gaga (she was diagnosed with PTSD), John Nash (he was diagnosed with schizophrenia), Carrie Fisher (she was diagnosed with bi-polar), Abraham Lincoln (he was diagnosed with clinical depression and PTSD), Adele (she was diagnosed with postpartum depression), Dan Reynolds (he was diagnosed with clinical depression) and Joanne Rowling (she was diagnosed with depression). All of these people have done amazing things in their life and all have been diagnosed with permanent mental disorders.


Every human on this planet is different in their own unique way. No one is perfect, as there is no such thing as 'perfection'. Everyone deserves to be treated the same way, no matter how 'different' they may be. Some people try to avoid those who have been diagnosed with a mental illness, but what they do not realise is they are likely to be walking away from one of the most genuine and amazing people in the world.


Whether you do or don't have a mental disorder, everyone deserves to be treated equally. No matter if you are male or female. No matter if you skin is pale or coloured. No matter if you are attracted to the same or opposite gender. Everyone is different in their own unique way and deserve love and respect.



If you were diagnosed with a mental disorder, I would love to hear your story. If you would like to share, feel free to write in the comments below.

86 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page